Now Live: Pick and Choose Your Viral FeaturesUpdates
Today, we’re making it much easier to turn off social sharing and viral features that you don’t feel belong on your Ning Network.
Starting immediately, Network Creators and administrators have the new ability to turn off the following features:
- Invitations. Ordinary members will no longer be able to send out invitations, and the “Invite” links will be removed from your Ning Network. And when creating a group or event, members will only be able to invite their friends on the network.
- Facebook sharing. Remove the “Facebook” links and checkbox that were added to your Ning Network in March, preventing your members from posting directly to Facebook.
- Twitter sharing. Remove the “Twitter” links and checkbox that were added to your Ning Network in January, preventing your members from posting directly to Twitter.
- “Share” links. Hide the “Share” links on your Ning Network that appear at the bottom of content and on profile pages. This will also hide the “Share” links in media players, which will prevent members from seeing embed codes.
These features are all still on by default, so if you want to update what viral tools are available on your Ning Network, head to the Manage tab and select Member Controls. Are there are more features you don’t feel are right for your Ning Network? Let us know, and we’ll look at making it possible to turn other features off as well.